It’s the roaring ‘20s! Gershwin wrote his signature piece Rhapsody in Blue about the same time Maurice Ravel was in Paris writing his Concerto in G, which was heavily influenced by American jazz. Hear both pieces as audience favorite pianist Natasha Paremski returns to the VSO in a program that harkens back to the decade of the Norfolk Symphony Orchestra’s first performance in 1921. Leading the VSO will be Akiko Fujimoto, who is quickly establishing herself as one of today’s most dynamic and nuanced young conductors.
Akiko Fujimoto, conductor
Natasha Paremski, piano
Hindemith: Ragtime
Ravel: Concerto in G
Ellington: Harlem
Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue
Sunday, September 26, 2021 at 2:30pm
Sandler Center for the Performing Arts
CLICK HERE to get tickets. 
Back to Top